PDA

View Full Version : Hello :)

Jaclyn99
09-05-2011, 10:48
Hello all,

I think that I am, in the truest sense of the word, a 'newbie.' I came across this site looking for places to go in and around St. Helens and couldnt let it pass without saying hi because it's such a good site! :)

I have just updated my very old and very heavy bike, and I'm looking to spend some quality time getting muddy and building my confidence up with the new one! :embarassed:

Jaclyn

JimmyJames
09-05-2011, 10:52
Hello and welcome. I'm a relative noob myself. The members here are a great bunch.

Enjoy!

:thumbz:

Eric A
09-05-2011, 10:56
Welcome Jaclyn, There will be a newbie ride posted for June so keep your eyes peeled to the site. Also look out for some NCR (Non Club Rides) as you can go on these without an assessment but check with the ride leader first as they vary tremendously in terms of route distance and type of terrain covered. Areyou doing any riding at the moment, please psot up a few details then the guys/gals have a better indication on what to invite you along to. Defo get yourself booked on the next newbie ride tho.
Cheers
Eric

syk0
09-05-2011, 11:13
Howdy

:thumbz:

Jaclyn99
09-05-2011, 11:21
Hello,

I suppose the best way to describe myself would be that during my early teenage years i was never off a bike and would tackle (or try and fail!) to tackle most things. After a lengthy period where I didn't go near a bike I have very recently rediscovered it (first on my old bike, and then on my partners Specialized rockhopper, which was much better, if a little big!).

So I suppose after that vague and not so simple explanation I would say that I'm starting somewhere near the bottom ability wise. My fitness is not great, but that tends to improve as quickly as it deteriorates, from experience!

Thanks for the advice, it'd be good to hear from some of the newbies too as to where they are up to in their journey and what has most helped them make improvements.