Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hey

Hi Guys,

I'm new to mountain biking, been riding bikes all my life though, mainly BMX. Really looking forward to getting out there though.

I was hoping I could get some advice. Im looking for a new bike but hopefully just a cheap basic one until I can afford something better. I have been pointed towards the Saracen Tufftrax by a few forums and websites as a really good basic bike, any body had any experience with this or have any ideas on a model to go for? I can get the Saracen for £200. ATM cant really afford any more!

Great forum by the way, cant wait to get out there!
    Thanks
    Neil

Best get 2nd hand at that price to be blunt and please don't take this wrong you need to spend a lot more if your going to take it serious as a guide at least £800 ish for a new hard tail or £1200 for a full suss but you may drop on a bargin somewhere look out for a "on one 456" prob best starter bike around
    Our greatest glory is not never falling off, but in getting up every time we do

Comment

Thanks for the reply. I appreciate I'll need a better bike, but Ive never been out mountain biking before, I dont want to go out and find I hate it and be stuck with a hugely expensive bike! I have looked around for a second hand one but I dont have any contacts in the biking world, don't want to buy a dud! And I think most importantly at the moment I dont have the kind of cash available to spend on a decent bike.

Thanks again for the reply, Ill have a look around for the bike you recommended.
      Neil

Comment

I bought a £245 carrera at the start of last year, and it did the job of confirming that I enjoyed it and wanted to continue riding as much as possible, then the expensive bikes were bought. The carrera was ok for the local rides but pretty awful at trail centres. I saw a top spec boardman sell on ebay 2 weeks ago for £360, that would be an excellent starter bike, the 456 usually sell between £500-£700 2nd hand.