Mid life crisis

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mid life crisis

Hi everyone, I'm a complete novice to mountain biking and so out of shape its untrue but I'm 40 next year so need to get off my arse and do something about it so have bought myself a Lapierre Zesty 314 bike and intend to get out and about as much as work/family will allow. Whats the best way to get started? I think I need to get fitter first, any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Just get out and ride

Comment

Good on you.
      Get out as much as you can locally.
      Look out for next newbie ride and NCRs .

Where u based as there will probably be someone nearby who can show u some local trails.

Comment

I'm in Thatto Heath but dont know the area very well. I've bought a Garmin edge 800 sat nav so was hoping to download some routes from somewhere.

Comment

Well u have the best bike shop in the land on your doorstep.
          Plenty of stuff we do based around Billinge to get yourself fit before heading out further afield.

Comment

Welcome, there are plenty of members in and around that area who'll point you in the right direction. As Phil says, newbie ride / local non club rides are a good place to start.
            If paying anything, don't forget to pm me with details, what it is for, and by what method. Cheers.

Comment

Originally posted by Pieeater View Post
              Well u have the best bike shop in the land on your doorstep.
              Plenty of tame stuff we do based around Billinge to get yourself fit before heading out into the next farmer's field.
              That's more accurate!

Comment

your only round the corner from me then. theres some decent bits and pieces around the area from half an hour upwards.
                Woollybacks Club Routes - http://www.gpsies.com/mapUser.do?use...thewoollybacks
                Members NCR - http://www.gpsies.com/mapUser.do?use...WoollybacksNCR