Very newbie here

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Very newbie here

We'll thought I would say hello. Live over in Skelmersdale, I have two kids, my little lad is 8 and has just got his very first mountain bike from father xmas.

I would like to join your club to learn the skills and the routes so I can pass on the knowledge to him and be able to do rides together. Plus he's no good at banter he just gets upset

Haven't bought a bike yet but after reading articles the Calibre two.two sounds a good starting point, which I will be buying next week. Unless someone can recommend a hard tail for £500.

I had cancer in 2012 which was exciting and it has taken 12 months to get back to "normal" so I have given myself a March deadline to get fit enough to be able to do the newbie ride.

Well that will do for now, if any knows of a child friendly trial no more than 1 hours drive away please let me know. Oh where's the best place to go for MTB clothing.

Thanks in advance

Regards

Steve Leggett

AKA Lego

Hello Steve and welcome , there are a fair few riders in the Skem area. And I'm sure one of them will tell you of some very local trails .

Comment

Hi Steve n welcome to the club, there will be plenty of info for you from the rest of the peeps. If you looking for a hard tail I'd be looking at a steel hard tail, ragley blue pig, on one 456, cotic etc second hand should pick a good one up for £500. I got a pig off eBay a few month ago for £450

There's all sorts of places for clothes, decathlon, ALDI, Halfords, leisure lakes, merlin etc etc just look thru the net

As for trails grizdale, whinlatter, llandegla blue's are all ok or just get out local.

Enjoy

Comment

Hi Steve, good local route is beacon then up to parbold hill, that will get you fit in no time haha.

Comment

Hi Lego, welcome