Hi Woollys!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hi Woollys!!

Hi everyone im Rachel and Im from St Helens - a real wool! 😁 Im just getting started with mountain biking - with that i mean i go for rides on a mountain bike - nothing extreme! Mainly canal rides and delamere forest!
    I need a push - something to make me buzz and I think being in a group would help me! No one i know enjoys bike riding like me and Im looking to challenge myself this year 💪🏻😁
    What fitness level and experience is needed to join or expected on a newbie ride?

Hi Rach, welcome!

We'll be running a newbie ride later this month, it will be about 12 miles of off road trails with a few decent climbs too.

You'll need a decent fitness level, ability to ride for a few hrs at a reasonable pace.

If you can do a few hours around Delamere and up old pale you should be fine.

Sent from my KC-S701 using Tapatalk

Comment

Welcome to the forum Rachel. From your intro it sounds like the club will take you out of your comfort zone; which isn't a bad thing. Delamere will open your eyes when you learn the trails. Fitness is relative and the club is only looking for a reasonable level so that the slowest rider isn't hanging off the back and can keep a reasonable pace. If you are able to keep 18 mph on a mtb around Delamere, you should just about cut the mustard More seriously, get on Stu's newbie ride and see how your fare.

Edit - change your forum name otherwise you will be called Rachroo for ever more.

Comment

Welcome

another to try could be skyride at billinge, just to get a gauge
        I used to be faster...…...

Comment

[MENTION=896]Pringle Paul[/MENTION] 18mph around Delamere?!?!? Just checked a few of mine and they're all 7mph on club rides and that's excluding stopping. Even when we rode there our average wasn't that fast